About Us

Who We Are

Our District serves water and wastewater the communities of the Pinery, Timbers, Misty Pines, Pinery Glen, High Prairie Farms, Pradera, Vistancia, and Colorado Golf Club.  Click here for a map. There are currently about 4500 residential accounts (about 15,000 residents), 90 large irrigator and commercial customers.  In 1965, the District was formed as the “Denver Southeast Suburban Water and Sanitation District.”  We had our first customer in 1971 and have been providing Quality Water for LIFE ever since.  In the early 1990’s we began doing business as the “Pinery Water and Wastewater District”.  This gives a geographic connection between our name and the area that we service.

Our Vision is to provide Quality Water for LIFE. We will fulfill our vision through the following mission statements.

Longterm Sustainability

Innovative Solutions

Fiscal Responsibility

Excellent Service

Regional Involvement

South Metro Water Supply Authority (SMWSA)

South Metro Water Supply Authority was formed in 2004 to create a regional water authority through bringing together smaller water entities in south Denver. With a unified approach to regional water rights and allocation, SMWSA better serves constituents through its increased negotiating power and support on structural and non-structural projects representing half of Douglas County and 10 percent of Arapahoe County. Learn more at southmetrowater.org

WISE Project (Water Infrastructure and Supply Efficiency)

The WISE project is a regional partnership between Denver Water, Aurora water, and ten South Metro water suppliers in the South Metro Water Supply Authority that proposes using excess system capacities and unused reusable water to reduce reliance on nonrenewable groundwater and reduce the need to develop new infrastructure.  Learn more at Denver Water – WISE project.

Cherry Creek Project Water Authority

Cherry Creek Project Water AuthorityThe CherryCreek Project Water Authority (“CCPWA”) was established in 2005 as an organization of water providers in the Cherry Creek basin upstream of Cherry Creek Reservoir to acquire and share water rights and water supplies. The CCPWA Members include the Arapahoe county Water and Wastewater Authority (“ACWWA”), the Cottonwood Water and Sanitation District (“CWSD”), the Inverness Water and Sanitation District (“IWSD”), and the Denver Southeast Suburban Water and Sanitation District. You can view the 2014 CCPWA Master Plan here.